Ethel Ennis – This Is Ethel Ennis (1963)

Ethel Ennis - This Is Ethel Ennis (1963)

Ethel Ennis – This Is Ethel Ennis (1963)
Jazz, Vocal Jazz | MP3 320 kbps CBR | 61 min | 109 MB
Label: Poker | Rel:1963

Ethel Llewellyn Ennis (born November 28, 1932 in Baltimore, Maryland) is an American jazz musician. Ethel Ennis began performing on the piano in high school, but her natural vocal abilities soon eclipsed those as a pianist. Embarking on a solo career, she recorded a number of sides for Atlantic Records before the LP debut, 1955’s Lullabies for Losers was released by Jubilee Records. In 1957, Ennis moved to the Capitol Records label for a two-album contract, and A Change of Scenery was released. Soon after the 1958 follow-up LP Have You Forgotten, Ennis took a six-year hiatus from recording during which she toured Europe with Benny Goodman. Ennis was again invited to the recording studios in 1963, recording four LPs for RCA Records. However, disenchanted with the creative direction of the label and artist management, Ennis left RCA and took another hiatus, this time eight years without a recording contract. During this period she sang the title song for the 1967 feature film Mad Monster Party. The BASF LP 10 Sides of Ethel Ennis emerged in 1973 and later that year Ennis, a Democrat, was invited to sing at the re-inauguration of Richard Nixon. Ethel’s unusual a cappella rendition of the national anthem shocked some, but inspired many others. Earlier on, Ethel had returned to her hometown of Baltimore, and sang outside the area only a handful of times in the next several decades. Then in 1980 to the delight of loyal fans she reappeared, releasing a live album, followed in 1994 by a self-titled studio album, and in 1998 once again recording for a major label with If Women Ruled the World on Savoy Jazz. The most recent Ennis recording was a critically praised 2005 live set, captured in performance at Montpelier in her home state of Maryland. Between January 1978 and April 1980 two of her tracks Sing me a tune and They’ll always call you young were used on a tape played with Testcard F on BBC1.


1. He Loves Me
2. An Occasional Man
3. Dear Friend
4. Nobody Told Me
5. As You Desire Me
6. Joey, Joey, Joey
7. The Moon Was Yellow (And the Night Was Young)
8. Who Will Buy?
9. Night Club
10. Love, Don’t Turn Away
11. Starry-Eyed and Breathless
12. When Did I Fall in Love
13. The Boy from Ipanema
14. When Will the Hurt Be Over
15. Now I Have Everything
16. Matchmaker, Matchmaker
17. San Juan
18. For a Little While
19. I’ve Got That Feeling
20. About Love
21. We Could Learn Together
22. Look at Me

Ethel Ennis – This Is Ethel Ennis (1963) Download, Warez, DDL, Free, Full Album, Torrent, Legal.