Chris Connor – Softly and Swingin' (1969)

Chris Connor - Softly and Swingin' (1969)

Chris Connor – Softly and Swingin’ (1969)
Jazz, Jazz Vocal | MP3 320 kbps CBR | 34 min | 86 MB
Label: JVC | Rel:1969

Recorded live in Tokyo in January 1969 and long available exclusively for the Japanese market, Softly and Swingin’ captures Chris Connor at her most expressive, indulging the darkness so integral to her singular vocal style to comment on a world turned upside-down. Playing to a crowd of American soldiers on leave from duty in Vietnam, Connor embraces both the tenor and the music of the times, tackling songs including the Beatles’ "The Fool on the Hill" and the Bacharach/David composition "What the World Needs Now Is Love" alongside well-chosen perennials including "Cry Me a River" and "Someone to Watch Over Me." The cumulative antiwar message is unmistakable, but no less striking is the experimental approach of her backing band, which includes guitarist Shungo Sawada and drummer George Otsuka.


1 Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
02 ‘Round Midnight
03 Cry Me A River
04 Misty
05 Someone To Watch Over Me
06 Fool on The Hill
07 I’ve Gotta Be Me
08 What The World Needs Now
09 It’s All Right With Me
10 Goodbye

Chris Connor – Softly and Swingin' (1969) Download, Warez, DDL, Free, Full Album, Torrent, Legal.